Come To The Table For These Amazing Women And Businesses!

YWCA Women of the Year
Nominees Announced

Thirty-three women and businesses nominated
for the 44th annual awards event

Twenty-eight fascinating women and five exceptional businesses will be in the spotlight as we host our 44th annual Women of the Year awards event!

This event highlighting the valuable role of these thirty-three women and businesses in shaping the Fargo-Moorhead community is Monday, May 1 at the Delta by Marriott (formerly Ramada Plaza & Suites). The social hour, including a Happy Harry’s wine raffle featuring a variety of prizes and mystery wine pull, begins at 5:30 p.m., with the dinner and program starting at 6:30 p.m. All nominees will be honored and the evening will culminate with the announcement of this year’s recipients in 13 award categories.

From 1973 to 2016, the YWCA has paid tribute to 496 outstanding Women of the Year honorees whose lives, talents, and passions have made a meaningful difference. All have demonstrated passion for their community, service to women and children, and are an inspiration to the next generation of leaders. A full list of this year’s nominees is provided below.

Tickets to the event are $80 and a portion of each ticket is a tax deductible donation to the YWCA. Table sponsorships are also available to showcase your businesses. Proceeds from this event support the mission and programs of YWCA Cass Clay.

For more information please call (701) 232-2547 or email Tami at

2017 YWCA Women of the Year Nominees

The following thirty-three women and businesses are being recognized for their outstanding achievements as 2017 Women of the Year Nominees:

  • Rev. Cathie Bishop (Community Presbyterian Church)
  • Linda Boyd (Fargo-Moorhead Symphony Orchestra)
  • Carrie Brimhall, Ph.D. (Minnesota State Community and Technical College)
  • Sister Peggy Byrne (Friends of Chimbote)
  • Sister Juli Caron (Sanford Health)
  • Ellen Cooke (Sanford Health)
  • CoreLink Administrative Solutions
  • Leola Daul (Cass County Social Services)
  • Beth Ekre (Carl Ben Eielson Middle School)
  • Jan Eliassen (Gladys Ray Shelter)
  • Michelle Elness (Olivet Lutheran Church)
  • Flint Communications
  • Michelle Gelinske (Michelle’s Studio of Music and HeartSprings)
  • Great North Insurance
  • Kris Hanneman (First Community Credit Union)
  • Jodi Heilman (Coach My Brand)
  • Kristina Hein (United Way of Cass-Clay)
  • Cindy Hutchins (Nativity Elementary School)
  • Alaina Johnson (Jefferson Elementary School)
  • Myla Korbel (Rape & Abuse Crisis Center)
  • Kim Lauf (Hatch Realty)
  • Pat Leonard (Sanford Health)
  • Carrie Leopold (Inspire Innovation Lab)
  • Jane Matejcek (VA Health Care System)
  • Jessica McEvers (Oak Grove Lutheran School)
  • Lynna Ngo (Fargo South High School student)
  • Rebecca Roe (Concordia College student)
  • Naomi Schempp (Great North Insurance)
  • Jane Schuh, Ph.D. (North Dakota State University)
  • Megan Stoner (Marco)
  • The Chamber – Fargo Moorhead West Fargo
  • Two Rivers Veterinary Hospital
  • Billi Jo Zielinski (Make A Wish of North Dakota)